DIY Deodorant – Smell better plus health benefits?

Standard

A journey to health and odor free clothing.

I became curious when my friend found Lush Deodorant and we began talking the health benefits and the smell benefits of natural deodorant if I could just make my own.  A quick online search and sure enough many people have been doing it and successfully for a variety of reasons including nursing moms wanting to avoid aluminum on little hands.  A quick review of the Lush Deodorant site brought to my attention that I was on the right path.  What I love about the Aromaca deodorant was the sweet lemony/citrus smell with the hint of patchouli.  Yet on myself I wasn’t so sure that’s what I wanted.  I wanted neutral, neutral, neutral.

Passionate HomeMaking inspired me with her recipe:

5-6 Tbsp Coconut oil
1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup arrowroot powder or cornstarch

Combine equal portions of baking soda & arrowroot powder. Then slowly add coconut oil and work it in with a spoon until it maintains the substance you desire. It should be about the same texture as the store bought kind, solid but able to be applied easily. You can either scoop this into your old dispensers or place in a small container with lid and apply with fingers with each use. After applying the product, you can just rub the remains into your hands as a lotion! This recipe lasts about 3 months for two people with regular daily use.

And being me I began to modify based on my own cupboard!

I had coconut oil but also shea butter, vitamin E and aloe.  I had paraffin wax and corn starch along with baking soda.  And I began to concoct.

I used equal parts coconut oil to shea then added just a teaspoon each of vitamin e and aloe.  I added 6 tablespoons of the paraffin and two days later watched the gooey mess that was my deodorant.  I then remelted everything (did I mention this is the best part – you can try again!) and added more paraffin I didn’t measure it well but I’d guess I added close to 4 tablespoons) with which I got a too solid bar that I couldn’t apply – fail!!!  Remelt!  Added 2 more tablespoons of each coconut and shea and matching baking soda and corn starch.  A much better mixture but still a bit hard.  After living with it a couple more days – REMELT!!

In the end here is my recipe.

My Skin Care Base

6 tablespoons coconut oil –

Coconut oil has also been shown to be anti-fungal when used topically. Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/24540-coconut-oil-topical-health-benefits/#ixzz1uzp5Vq7E

4 tablespoons shea butter –

Raw, unrefined shea butter is good for dry skin, skin rashes, skin peeling after tanning, sunburn, blemishes, cracked heels and skin, itchy skin, frost bite, stretch marks, scars, chapped lips, eczema, small wounds or scrapes, diaper rash, hair moisturizer, burns, athlete’s foot, insect bites and stings, arthritis, muscle fatigue, pets’ (dogs and horses) dry skin, sunburn, scrapes, and as a natural mechanics lubricant.  Learn more: http://www.naturalnews.com/024157_butter_shea_skin.html#ixzz1uzr8jc00

2 tablespoons vitamin e –

According to the University of Maryland Medical Center, using vitamin E in the form of alpha tocopherol cream, can reduce the depth of wrinkles, reduce facial lines and reduce the roughness of your skin.  Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/259045-what-are-the-benefits-of-topical-vitamin-e-oil/#ixzz1uzru722S

2 tablespoons aloe –

Aloe Vera sap helps to stimulate cell renewal, contains antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties, and it moisturizes and nourishes the skin.  Read more: Aloe Vera Topical Benefits | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/about_4744388_aloe-vera-topical-benefits.html#ixzz1uzsm3c1z

2 tablespoons castor oil – do not use if pregnant

Topical application of Castor oil through massage or packs has been shown to be an effective remedy for: skin keratosis, ringworm, fungal and bacterial infections, sebaceous cysts, warts, muscle strains and spasms, itching, reducing inflammation, and relief of pain. Learn more: http://www.naturalnews.com/034558_castor_oil_health_benefits_blood_flow.html#ixzz1uzuHJIMb

2 tablespoons lanolin

Lanolin is used in burn dressings to support the wound healing process, as an antimicrobial and disinfectant in topical products used to treat acne and in deodorizing toiletries, among other applications.  Read more: Information About Lanolin Properties | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/about_6707301_information-lanolin-properties.html#ixzz1uzwYOJcv

Melt in double boiler mixing well.  Place in jar.

This becomes my skin care base.

From here I begin to create other products including the deodorant above.  For experimenting with paraffin additions to help in the summer melt down I suggest beginning with a 1:2 ratio 1 part paraffin to 2 parts oil much like the beeswax in the recipe below.  Then adjust to fit your personal preferences.

Lip Balm and Skin Cream

2 Tablespoons beeswax (about 1 oz)
4 Tablespoons oil mixture
12 lip balm containers or 1 clean recycled stick deodorant container
dropper

Directions:

1. Melt beeswax in a small pan or crockpot over low heat. Add oil until all ingredients a melted.Add a few drops essential oil if desired. I did not use any essential oil and it is smells wonderfully like honey!
2. Using a small medicinal dropper, pour the melted liquid into your lip balm containers or upcycled deodorant container. Add a few extra drops to the top after filling each container as the ingredients will shrink as they cool.
3. Cool completely to harden. Cover with cap and decorate or label as desired.

I do NOT add tea tree to my products for several reasons – one tea tree is very dangerous on any open wound.  I also have found notations that it encourages hair growth.  I prefer to minimize the hair on my legs and under my arms so this was a factor for me.

I do not normally add any essential oils to my mixes just for neutrality.  This allows me to wear any fragrance I choose any time.

About Smoothie Essentials - ShelleRae

Welcome! I am ShelleRae and I am very excited you are here. I joined the Smoothie Essentials team about 5 years ago now. Always health conscious and into prevention versus medication it seemed natural when the opportunity came up to take on the creation of this blog and the MatchaGT blog as well. As mother to three and surrogate to many more I've practiced much of what I write on sometimes with great success and other times with a bit less. My friends and family are my test kitchen and my facts are most often from WebMD - they seem to have a fairly accurate and conservative approach. The Smoothie Essentials product is a line of boosts that add functionality to one's daily foods without adding flavor or colors. (except for MatchaGT and green blend) making it easy to "hide" them from the finicky eaters we all know and love. From stirring them into yogurts, smoothies, frappes and even juice drinks it all come out with the original flavor being center star.. My inspiration comes from others who also are striving to live a better life through lifestyle changes. More information is available at www.SmoothieEssentials.com or by emailing shelley@juicesolutions.com

One response »

Leave a Reply

